2018 Kavli Prize Committees

Kavli Prize Committee Appointments

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters appoints three Kavli Prize Committees on the basis of nominations received by leading international academies and other equivalent scientific organizations. Nominations for the committees were provided by:

  • The Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • The French Academy of Sciences
  • The Max Planck Society (Germany)
  • The National Academy of Sciences (US)
  • The Royal Society (UK)

2018 Kavli Prize Committees

These distinguished panels of international scientists review and recommend the Kavli Prize recipients on the basis of the nomination process. The panels for 2018:


Kavli Prize Committee in Astrophysics

  • Mats Carlsson (Chair)
    Institute of Theoretical Astrophysics, UiO, Oslo, Norway
  • Paola Caselli,
    Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics
    Garaching, Germany
  • Fiona Harrison
    California Institute of Technology
    Pasadena, California, US
  • Robert C. Kennicutt, Jr,
    University of Cambridge, UK
  • Irwin I. Shapiro
    Harvard University, US

Kavli Prize Committee in Nanoscience

  • Arne Brataas (Chair)
    The Norwegian University of Science and Technology
    Trondheim, Norway
  • Susan Coppersmith,
    University of Wisconsin,
  • Laura H. Greene
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign,
    Illinois, US
  • Jochen Mannhart
    Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research
    Stuttgart, Germany
  • Shuit-Tong Lee,
    Soochow University, China

Kavli Prize Committee in Neuroscience

  • Ole Petter Ottersen (Chair)
    Centre for Molecular Biology and Neuroscience, UiO, Oslo, Norway
  • Catherine Dulac,
    Harvard University, US
  • Susan McConnell
    Stanford University, Calfornia, US
  • Alexander Borst
    Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology
    Göttingen, Germany
  • Antoine Triller
    Institut de Biologie de l'École Normale Supérieure
    Paris, France