2022 Call for Nominations

The Kavli Prize recognizes breakthroughs in astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience – the big, the small and the complex. Laureates have changed the course of science with their discoveries – from gravitational waves to CRISPR-Cas9 and more. Your nominations will determine who receives the 2022 Kavli Prizes.


Nominations for the next Kavli Prize Laureates open September 1, 2021, and close December 1, 2021.


Nominations may be submitted September 1 - December 1, 2021

How to complete the nomination form

Three $1 million prizes are awarded in astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience. Independent committees of distinguished scientists evaluate the nominations and put forward recommendations to the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters. Announcement of the next laureates is on June 1, 2022.

Read more about the selection committees.

The Kavli Prize recognizes and values that diverse perspectives enable breakthroughs, and we are committed to recognizing breakthrough science worldwide. We encourage nominators to be mindful of the full diversity of the scientific enterprise and be attuned to gender, race and ethnicity, geographical region, and institutional diversity. As you consider your nominations, below is some additional information to keep in mind:

  • Only breakthroughs in astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience are considered.
  • Up to five individuals can be recognized for their work on the same breakthrough. 
  • Multiple nominations recognizing different breakthroughs are permitted.
  • Anyone can nominate, but self-nominations are not accepted.

“Science is taking us on an ever-accelerating journey into a future which we cannot predict any more than we could foresee the revolutionary power of the transistor. Practically everything we touch in our daily lives has been developed or improved through basic research. And based upon the past  the benefits of science will be even more spectacular than we can ever imagine.”

– Fred Kavli, Founder, The Kavli Foundation