Webcast: Seven Scientific Pioneers Receive the 2018 Kavli Prizes

The seven Kavli Prize Laureates toghether at the Award Ceremony in Oslo Concert Hall. Photo: Fredrik Hagen / NTB scanpix

More photos on the Kavli Prize Flickr account

Watch the 2018 Award Ceremony:

The Kavli Prize Laureates in Astrophysics, Nanoscience and Neuroscience received their prizes from His Majesty King Harald V at an award ceremony in Oslo Concert Hall today, Tuesday 4 September. The Kavli Prize consists of USD 1 million in each of the fields. In addition the laureates receive a gold medal and a scroll. The American actor Alan Alda and the Norwegian actress and Heidi Ruud Ellingsen co-hosted the ceremony.

Heidi Ruud Ellingsen and Alan Alda. Photo: Fredrik Hagen / NTB scanpix

2018 marks the tenth anniversary of the prestigious Kavli Prize, which recognizes scientists for major advances in three research areas: astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience - the biggest, the smallest, and the most complex.
This year’s winners come from five countries. The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics goes to Ewine van Dishoeck, The Netherlands. For the second time in the history there is one winner in one of the categories. She receives the prize “for her combined contributions to observational, theoretical, and laboratory astrochemistry, elucidating the life cycle of interstellar clouds and the formation of stars and planets.”

The Laureate in Astrophysics, Ewine van Dishoeck receive the Kavli Prize from H.M. King Harald. Photo: Fredrik Hagen / NTB scanpix

The Kavli Prize in Nanoscience is shared between Emmanuelle Charpentier (France), Jennifer A. Doudna (USA) and Virginijus Šikšnys, Lithuania. They received the prize “for the invention of CRISPR-Cas9, a precise nanotool for editing DNA, causing a revolution in biology, agriculture, and medicine.”

The Laureates in Nanoscience, f.l: Virginijus Šikšnys,  Jennifer Doudna  and  Jennifer Doudna   Photo: Fredrik Hagen / NTB scanpix

The Kavli Prize in neuroscience is shared between: A. James Hudspeth (USA), Robert Fettiplace, Great Britain and Christine Petit, France. They received the prize “for their pioneering work on the molecular and neural mechanisms of hearing.”

The Laureates in Neuroscience, f.l: Christine Petit,  Robert Fettiplace  and  James Hudspeth Photo: Fredrik Hagen / NTB scanpix

The committee chairs Mats Carlsson, Arne Brataas and Ole Petter Ottersen gave the reasons for the awarding of the prizes before His Majesty King Harald presented the Kavli Prize to the laureates.
The gala performance united science and culture in an event including a broad range of musical expressions featuring young artists who have shown their excellence in music.

The performing artists: Top :Adam Douglas and Solveig Slettahjell. Bottom: Eldbjørg Hemsing and Mathias Rugsveen. PhotoFredrik Hagen / NTB scanpix

The Norwegian Government’s Banquet at Oslo City Hall in the evening will be hosted by Iselin Nybø, Minister of Research and Higher Education. His Majesty King Harald V will be present. Among the 550 guests there will be many researchers and presidents of scientific institutions from around the world.
Kavli Prize Week is both a biennial celebration of science as well as an opportunity for dialogues on significant research in the fields of astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience.
The Kavli Prize was initiated by and named after Fred Kavli (1927-2013), a Norwegian-born U.S. philanthropist and founder of The Kavli Foundation.