2022 Kavli Prize Committees

Kavli Prize Committee Appointments

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters appoints three Kavli Prize Committees on the basis of nominations received by leading international academies and other equivalent scientific organizations. Nominations for the committees were provided by:


The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics

  • Viggo Hansteen (Chair), University of Oslo, Norway

    Alessandra Buonanno, Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics, Germany

    Andrea Ghez, UCLA, US

    Francoise Combes, Observatoire de Paris, France

    Max Pettini, University of Cambridge, UK

The Kavli Prize in Nanoscience

  • Bodil Holst (Chair), University of Bergen, Norway

    Gabriel Aeppli, Paul Scherrer Institut, Switzerland

    Joachim Spatz, Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Germany

    Naomi Halas, Rice University, US

    Li-Jun Wan, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China


The Kavli Prize in Neuroscience

  • Kristine B. Walhovd (Chair), University of Oslo, Norway

    Mary E. Hatten, The Rockefeller University, US

    Angela Friederici, Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences, Germany

    John O’Keefe, University College London, UK

    Antoine Triller, Institut de Biologie de l'École Normale Supérieure, France