2016 Kavli Prize Committees

Kavli Prize Committee Appointments

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters appoints three Kavli Prize Committees on the basis of nominations received by leading international academies and other equivalent scientific organizations. Nominations for the committees were provided by:

  • The Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • The French Academy of Sciences
  • The Max Planck Society (Germany)
  • The National Academy of Sciences (US)
  • The Royal Society (UK)



  • Mats Carlsson (Chair), Institute of Theoretical Astrophysics, UiO, Oslo, Norway
  • Claude Canizares, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, US
  • Carlos S. Frenk, Durham University, UK
  • Paola Caselli, Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Garching, Germany
  • Fiona Harrison, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California, US



  • Arne Brataas (Chair), The Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway
  • Mildred Dresselhaus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, US
  • Laura H. Greene, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Illinois, US
  • Jochen Mannhart, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart, Germany
  • Ke Lu, Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China




  • Ole Petter Ottersen (Chair), Centre for Molecular Biology and Neuroscience,UiO, Oslo, Norway
  • Cornelia Bargmann, The Rockefeller University, New York City, New York, US
  • Erwin Neher, MPI for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany
  • Susan McConnell, Stanford University, Calfornia, US
  • Antoine Triller, Institut de Biologie de l'École Normale Supérieure, Paris, France