2014 Kavli Prize Committees

Kavli Prize Committee Appointments

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters appoints three Kavli Prize Committees on the basis of nominations received by leading international academies and other equivalent scientific organizations. Nominations for the committees were provided by:

  • The Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • The French Academy of Sciences
  • The Max Planck Society (Germany)
  • The National Academy of Sciences (US)
  • The Royal Society (UK)

2014 Kavli Prize Committees

These distinguished panels of international scientists review and recommend the Kavli Prize recipients on the basis of the nomination process. The panels for 2014:


Kavli Prize Committee in Astrophysics

  • Mats Carlsson (Chair)
    Institute of Theoretical Astrophysics, UiO
    Oslo, Norway
  • Claude Canizares
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
    – United States
  • Carlos S. Frenk
    Durham University
    England, UK
  • Guinevière Kauffmann
    Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics
    Garching, Germany
  • Claire Max
    University of California, Santa Cruz
    Santa Cruz, California – United States

Kavli Prize Committee in Nanoscience

  • Arne Brataas (Chair)
    The Norwegian University of Science and Technology
    Trondheim, Norway
  • Mildred Dresselhaus
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Cambridge, Massachusetts
    – United States
  • Evelyn Hu
    Harvard University
    Cambridge, Massachusetts – United States
  • Klaus Kern
    Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research
    Stuttgart, Germany
  • Xie Yi
    University of Science and Technology of China
    Anhui, China

Kavli Prize Committee in Neuroscience

  • Ole Petter Ottersen (Chair)
    Centre for Molecular Biology and Neuroscience,UiO
    Oslo, Norway
  • Cornelia Bargmann
    The Rockefeller University
    New York City, New York – United States
  • Lily Jan
    University of California, San Francisco
    San Francisco, Calfornia – United States
  • Erwin Neher
    MPI for Biophysical Chemistry
    Göttingen, Germany
  • Stanislas Dehaene
    Paris, France