2012 Kavli Prize Committees

Kavli Prize Committee Appointments

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters appoints three Kavli Prize Committees on the basis of nominations received by leading international academies and other equivalent scientific organizations. Nominations for the committees were provided by:

  • The Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • The French Academy of Sciences
  • The Max Planck Society (Germany)
  • The National Academy of Sciences (US)
  • The Royal Society (UK)

2012 Kavli Prize Committees

These distinguished panels of international scientists review and recommend the Kavli Prize recipients on the basis of the nomination process. The panels for 2012:


Kavli Prize Committee in Astrophysics

  • Oddbjørn Engvold (Chair)
    University of Oslo
    Oslo, Norway
  • Andrew Fabian
    University of Cambridge
    Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Guinevière Kauffmann
    Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics
    Garching, Germany
  • Claire Max
    University of California, Santa Cruz
    Santa Cruz, California – United States
  • Joseph Silk
    University of Oxford
    Oxford, United Kingdom

Kavli Prize Committee in Nanoscience

  • Arne Skjeltorp (Chair)
    University of Oslo
    Oslo, Norway
  • Paul Alivisatos
    Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
    Livermore, California – United States
  • Evelyn Hu
    Harvard University
    Cambridge, Massachusetts – United States
  • Jianguo Hou
    Hefei National Laboratory for the Physical Sciences
    Anhui, China
  • Klaus Kern
    Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research
    Stuttgart, Germany

Kavli Prize Committee in Neuroscience

  • Jon Storm-Mathisen (Chair)
    University of Oslo
    Oslo, Norway
  • Stanislas Dehaene
    Paris, France
  • Lily Jan
    University of California, San Francisco
    San Francisco, Calfornia –United States
  • Bert Sakmann
    Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology
    Martinsried, Germany
  • Charles F. Stevens
    Salk Institute
    La Jolla, California – United States