2020 Call for Nominations


Nominations may be submitted September 1 - December 1, 2019

How to complete the nomination form Nomination form

The call for nominations for the 2020 Kavli Prizes are open from September 1, 2019. The closing date for nominating candidates is December 1, 2019. The winners of the Kavli Prizes 2020 will be announced in May/June 2020 and the award ceremony will take place in Oslo, Norway on September 8, 2020. 

Nominations for the Kavli Prizes should be submitted to The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters by way of the online nomination form obtained at www.kavliprize.org when the nomination period starts.

To review the nominations, The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters appoints a Kavli Prize Committee for each field, chaired by a member of the Academy. The other members are appointed by the Academy following proposals from the following bodies: The Chinese Academy of Sciences, The French Academy of Sciences, The Max Planck Society (Germany), The National Academy of Sciences (US), and The Royal Society (UK).

Project manager

Eirik Lislerud

eirik.lislerud@dnva.no Phone:+47 22 84 15 08

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters awards The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics, Nanoscience, and Neuroscience on the basis of the recommendations of the three Kavli Prize Committees.

The Kavli Prize is awarded by The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters for outstanding scientific achievements in Astrophysics, Nanoscience, and Neuroscience. The Kavli Prize for each of the three fields consists of USD 1,000,000. In addition to the prize money, the laureates will receive a scroll and a gold medal.

The Kavli Prize is a partnership between The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, The Kavli Foundation (US), and The Norwegian Ministry of Education and Research.


The 2018 Kavli Prize laureates
The 2018 Kavli Prize Laureates and H.M. King Harald of Norway