2018 Kavli Prize Laureates Announcement, Direct from the Norwegian Academy of Science & Letters

The broadcast starts: MAY 31ST 9:00AM ET /3:00PM CEST / 15.00 Norwegian time


Live from the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, Oslo, the President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters announces the 2018 Kavli Prize laureates, with presentations by the Kavli Prize Committee Chairs. Moderator, science writer Adam Rutherford.

Ole M. SejerstedOle M. Sejersted (Presenter) is President of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, and Professor Emeritus and former Head of the Institute for Experimental Research at the University of Oslo. Founded in 1857, the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters is a non-governmental, nationwide body which embraces all fields of learning. The Academy acts as a national contact body both within the individual scientific disciplines and between these, and represents Norwegian science vis-à-vis foreign academies and other international scientific organizations.


Adam RutherfordAdam Rutherford (Moderator) is a science writer and broadcaster with a degree in evolutionary biology and a PhD in genetics. He is currently an editor at the science journal Nature where he makes podcasts and and short films about new research, and writes for The Guardian (United Kingdom). As a science writer, he covers all fields while specializing in evolution and human biology. Adam has made "Men In White" for Channel 4 (UK), "The Cell" and "The Gene Code" for BBC 4. The former was broadcast in over 40 countries and placed in the Daily Telegraph’s list of 10 Classic science programs. He has conducted several interviews for The Culture Show, BBC 2.

Mats CarlssonMats Carlsson, Institute of Theoretical Astrophysics, UiO, Norway (Astrophysics Chair)

Professor Mats Carlsson's academic interests include solar physics, stellar atmosphere modeling, radiation magneto hydrodynamics and space projects. He is the President of the European Association for Solar Telescopes (EAST),  board member of the Norwegian Space Centre (NSC) and member of the Board of Reviewing Editors (BRE) in Science magazine. He is the director of the Rosseland Centre for Solar Physics, a centre of excellence with funding from the Research Council of Norway. He received the Arctowski medal from the National Academy of Sciences in 2017.

Arne BrataasArne Brataas, Department of Physics, NTNU, Norway (Nanoscience Chair)

Arne Brataas received his Ph.D. in physics from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology in 1997. He is the director of the Center of Excellence QuSpin. He has been a postdoctoral fellow at TU Delft (1997-1999) and Harvard University (1999-2002) and, since 2002, professor at his alma mater. He is the chairman of the Kavli Prize committee in Nanoscience and a recipient of the 2015 ERC Advanced Grant. His main interests are the theory of spin transport and dynamics in insulating and conducting nanostructured materials.

Ole Petter OttersenOle Petter Ottersen, President of Karolinska Institutet, Sweden (Neuroscience Chair)

Professor Ole Petter Ottersen is a physician and neuroscientist, and serves as the president of Karolinska Institute in Sweden. He took office in August 2017. Ottersen has been professor of medicine at the University of Oslo since 1992 and served as the university's elected Rector from 2009 to 2017.He has been head of department of the Institute of Anatomy (1997--1999), Pro-Dean for Research of the Faculty of Medicine (2000--2002) and director of the Centre for Molecular Biology and Neuroscience at the University of Oslo (2002--2009), a centre of excellence funded by the Research Council of Norway.[1] He was editor-in-chief of the journal Neuroscience 2006-2009.