2018 Kavli Prize 

General media queries for The Kavli Prize:

The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Marina Tofting, Head of Communication
Telephone: + 47 22 84 15 17 Mobile:  +47 93 86 63 12

The Kavli Foundation
James Cohen, Director of Communications and Public Outreach
Telephone: 805-278-7495

2018 Kavli Prize Media Kit

On May 31, the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters awarded the 2018 Kavli Prizes in Astrophysics, Nanoscience and Neuroscience. The Kavli Prizes will be presented in Oslo, Norway on September 4, 2018 during Kavli Prize Week.

To download high-resolution images and pdf copies of The Kavli Prize announcement, citations and explanatory notes, please click on the links below.

Social Media

Use #kavliprize ; Follow @KavliPrize for updates.

Press Release


English: Download (pdf)

Norwegian: Download (pdf)

German: Download (pdf)

Chinese: Download (pdf)

Lithuanian: Download (pdf)

French: Download (pdf)

Announcement handout (newspaper) Download (pdf)


Astrophysics: Download (pdf)

Nanoscience: Download (pdf)

Neuroscience: Download (pdf)

Explanatory Notes

Astrophysics: Download (pdf)

Nanoscience: Download (pdf)

Neuroscience: Download (pdf)


Astrophysics: Download (pdf)

Nanoscience: Download (pdf)

Neuroscience: Download (pdf)


Click on each image to download a high resolution file.

These images may be downloaded and distributed only in connection with The Kavli Prize.

The photographer/photo libraries/artists must be credited if noted.

2018 Laureate portraits:

Astrophysics (1 Laureate):
2018 Laureate in Astrophysics, Ewine van Dishoeck    

Ewine van Dishoeck
© Henrik Sandsjö/Leiden University


Nanoscience (3 Laureates):

2016 Laureate in Nanoscience, Gerd Binnig 2018 Laureate in Nanoscience, Jennifer Doudna 2018 Laureate in Nanoscience, Virginijus Šikšnys
Emmanuelle Charpentier
© Hallbauer&Fioretti (Braunschweig, Germany)
Jennifer Doudna
© UC Berkeley
Virginijus Šikšnys
© Vilnius University

Neuroscience (3 Laureates):

2016 Laureate in Neuroscience, Eve Marder 2018 Laureate in Neuroscience, Robert Fettiplace 2018 Laureate in Neuroscience, Christine Petit
A. James Hudspeth
© Rockefeller University
Robert Fettiplace
© University of Wisconsin-
Christine Petit
© William Beaucardet